Emil Filla – Still Life with Absinthe & Fan?

Emil Filla

Zátiší s kytarou

A new exhibition of the work of Czech Cubist master Emil Filla is due to open at Prague Castle Riding School. Whether or not his Still Life with Absinthe & Fan (1914) will be exhibited remains to be seen. I have never seen it, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

In the meantime absinthe art lovers migh care to look at this beautiful modern piece, painted by the author of an interesting new absinthe blog:

http://www.absinthedrinkers.org/labels/art.html

3 responses to “Emil Filla – Still Life with Absinthe & Fan?

  1. Thanks for the link! I find your blog very nice as well.

  2. Hi Leif!

    Thanks for your comments about Bairnsfather too!

    Do you sell those paintings? Can I republish them with a link for people that might be interested in buying them? Will you do some more absinthe related? Please do – how about a Green Fairy theme?

    Did you check out Scotty’s blog:

    http://www.absinthealchemist.com/blog/

    Na zdravi from Praha🙂

  3. Just got around to rereading this post (I’m somewhat of an egotist…at times).

    But to answer your questions:

    1. I do sell what I paint, draw, etc. so buyers and offers are always welcome. (btw, I am doing a small print (hand printed, signed and numbered) run of that watercolour over at etsy)

    2. Republish, link, etc. all you want!

    3. As for other work pertaining to absinthe, here’s my current line of thought:

    —I’m avoiding doing absinthe drinkers only because, well, I’m the only one I know (in person) who regularly drinks the stuff so they’d all be self portraits–although, I would be more than happy to work from photos, etc, of others.

    —The still lifes of bottles seemed to be a theme worth doing since all the bottles are mine (somewhat of a personal thing, extension of self, etc)

    –As for the green fairy. That is an interesting concept that I have yet to fully explore. My research is taking me places that I feel do deserve representation. The lineage of wormwood, medicine, myth, etc. So I anticipate doing something like that (with this urging, I expect sooner now than later).

    I’m really chomping at the bit to get back to art since it has been a while (freelancing, working, etc have eaten up my time). So expect more images soon.

Leave a Reply

