Absinthe Hallucinations?

Zizkov Tower

Žižkov Television Tower

They say the famous crawling babies – on the Prague televsion tower – will start to move if you drink too much Czech absinth! Prague is full of summertime revellers right now, and the strong Czech absinth is flowing like mountain streams during the spring melt.

After the first glass, you see things as you wish they were. After the second, you see things as they are not. Finally, you see things as they really are, and that is the most horrible thing in the world.

– Oscar Wilde on Absinthe

A word of caution from Auckland film maker James Blick

The hostel I am staying in, however, is neither magnificent nor regal. I went for the cheap dorm option, along with teams of drunk Irishmen on some sort of alcohol-fuelled “weekend-getaway” package. I seem to be the only one in my dorm who is not in Prague for the cheap beer or absinthe, and so sleeping has not been easy as highly intoxicated Irishmen stumble in at all hours, laughing and knocking over heavy things. The guy who sleeps above me came in at six this morning so drunk on absinthe that he was hallucinating and rolling around all morning.

http://www.stuff.co.nz/stuff/4120055a20517.html

The tale ends with the sight of Italian handcuffed to his bunk and a nine-millimeter revolver! The spirit of Alfred Jarry lives on😉

Update: Apparently the Green Fairy takes her summer vacations in Portugal:

From Stuart Cullen <stuartcullen.hotmail.com>

Just a little extra info from an experienced Absinthe drinker. I have drunk three different types of absinthe (two Portugese [50% and 58% alcohol by volume] and One Czech [55% by volume]) on innumerable occasions — usually 4+ European shots a night.

In Portugal, to get its most extreme effect I was told to add sugar to the shot, light the absinthe, blow it out, drink it through a straw, cup my hand over the glass and inhale as much of the fumes as I could. I am sure this would be potent with any alcoholic drink. I have drunk stronger vodka [63% by volume] yet it has never had the effect of absinthe.

I have experienced one ‘hallucination’ — I was once positively sure that a girl was dancing beside me for several minutes when there was no-one there.

2 responses to “Absinthe Hallucinations?

  1. Absolutely great pic!
    LOL!
    Robert-Gilles

  2. I experienced some rather wild hallucinations a few years back, though I couldn’t attribute them solely to absinthe (about 8 oz. of HG) since I had been at a summer party all day drinking beer and smoking irie. However, never in my days of excessive partying have I ever come close to hallucinating on beer and pot. I’m not particulary proud that I saw golden shafts of light and a silver Y trisecting the moon while floating on my back in a swimming pool at 4 AM, but it was very interesting (and somewhat disturbing) say the least. I wouldn’t recommend trying to achieve altered states with absinthe. Absinthe is for sippin’, ayahuasca is for trippin’! You can read the full account of the story at absinthealchemist on the absinthe literature page in the Pool of Absinthe story. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

